Running Full Speed after God

     We are in the midst of that time of year. Some dread it, some love it, some celebrate it, and some do all three. Don’t know what time of year I am referring too? If you are a girl you do. It is wedding season, and whether you are in the wedding, going to the wedding or just creeping on facebook looking at the daily postings of wedding photos you feel it too, and you are asking the same question. When will it be my turn?

     Now a word of advice to the boys, if you ever hear a girl or think a girl is not interested in getting married, you are wrong.  Every girl secretly has their wedding planned, we dream of the day we can make the phone call telling our closest friends that we are engaged and to start the planning process somewhere other than in our head. Within the last few weeks I have been talking to a lot of my single Christian friends and we have all come to the same conclusion. As a 20-something, we have no clue how to date anymore. Even though some of us dated a little in high school or possibly college things are different now.  Most of us don’t want to date just to date or to claim bragging rights that we are no longer in the singles club (Don’t laugh I know a few of  you that rush to your facebook the moment you can change your relationship status.)

     The truth is we all want the husband, we want the marriage, we want to dream about having children.  We all have that moment that we dream about sharing. There are certain things I cannot wait to say to my future husband. Making you wish for that special someone? Well I have a few words of advice, advice that I remind myself everyday. Get ready, you are going to want to remember this.

It is ok to be single!
…crickets….

     No, I’m serious, there is nothing wrong with being single, because when God puts that person infront of you, you will know.

So what do we do while were waiting?

     We pray. Yes, pray for your future husband (and boys pray for your future wife!) Sounds crazy?  Not at all. How do we pray for our future spouse?  We pray that they are surrounded by Christian friends and family that will support and encourage them.  We pray for them to be caught in their sin in order to be help accountable, we pray that God is preparing both of us for the day we meet (or the day we realize they have been with us all along)

     So for now. I am ok with being single, and instead of chasing after a guy in hopes he is the right one, I am going to run full speed after Christ and keep Him as my focus.

     I am going to clothe myself in strength and dignity and smile at my future (Proverbs 31:25) Just like the wife of noble character.

   Maya Angelou put it best when she said “A woman’s heart should be so hidden in God that a man has to seek Him just to find her.”

      And at somepoint, when I least expect it, God is going to answer my prayers and show me to the man of God that I will one day marry, and when that happens, I will still run full speed after God, only then I will have someone running right beside me.

-Elle

Interested in help for praying for your future husband? Check out this book: Praying for Your Future Husband: Preparing Your Heart for His By: Robin Jones Gunn and Tricia Goyer

What are your views on dating? How about dating as a Christian? This month I’m going to really focus on being a strong, single woman of God, and I invite you to come on this journey with me and to also write on the subject and let me know your ideas and thoughts.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

