‘You have my heart’

 I love the way You hold me, by my side You’ll always be You take each and every day, make it special in some way” – Jamie Grace, Hold Me

     I have never been in love, but someday I want to be. I know that someday it will happen, but as I sit here and think about it, what do I really know about what love means/is?

     I want to be in love. Real love. The love that cannot be broken, that no matter what happens it will always sustain. A love so deep no one else can come close to touching it.

    Want to know a secret?

     I already know who my first and true love is. He knows too.
     My first and always-will-be love is also my Savior. My King. My Jesus.

     The truth is that I do not understand the type of love that Jesus talks about, the type of love He lived. I want to undertstand and have and live this love deep-down in my core. I want people that have never met me to look at me and see the love of Jesus. I do not want my friends to look at me and see Elle, I want them to see the light of Christ shining through me at every moment.

     What is love?

  

    “Dear friends, let us love one another, for love comes from God. Everyone who loves has been born of God and knows God. Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love. This is how God showed His love among us: He sent His one and only Son into the world that we might live through Him. This is love: not that we loved God, but that He loved  us and sent His Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins. Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another, God lives in us and His love is made complete in us.”

                                                                   -1 John 4:7-12 (Emphasis mine)

(Read 1 John 4. Take your time. Breath it in. This is a lot, but it is worth it!)

Did you catch that?

God is love.

God is love, so for us to understand love, we must know God.

     You know that feeling when you have a crush on someone? That time when you cannot stop thinking about him, cannot wait to see and talk to him, make excuses to bump into and hang out with him?

     That’s what I want and I never want to get over it. I want to have a never ending crush on Jesus, only instead of just being a crush I want it to build into an incredible relationship! I want to see Jesus and think about Him, and talk to Him all the time! I want to yearn and long to be in His presence!      

     I want Jesus to have my heart. Fully and completely. 

     Jesus I give you my heart.

     I understand that sometimes my heart will be bruised, broken and hurting but sometimes it is all I have to give.

     And the best part?

     Jesus takes it anyway.

    Jesus YOU have my heart.

-Elle

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

