I Don’t Want to be Nice.

I Don’t Want to be Nice.

     Don’t worry, I don’t want to be mean either. Nice is a word used for puppies and pleasantries. Nice is a word you use when you don’t know what else to say. For a cool spring day, to describe some one you just met. Nice is not a way to show love.

     Dictionary.com defines nice as ‘agreeable, delightful, pleasing, amiable, kind, satisfactory’

     We all have our ways of showing love, some of us show it through our compassion, through our service, through giving it our all. Some of us show love in our patience, in our understanding or through our determination.

     A few days ago while texting with a friend about this and how each of us shows love he said about me that 

     ”How you treat others and being nice…that’s love”

     I know this was not meant as a slight but the more I read and thought about it the more I realized I did not want to be nice.

     Being nice doesn’t cause change, being nice and agreeable does not show love. Being nice does not show who Jesus is. Anyone can be nice, and everyone is nice at some point in their life. I’m tired of sitting back and making pleasantries, trying not to bruise someones ego. Trying not to offend someones beliefs or lack thereof. That’s what nice people do, they try to please all parties involved without offending someone in the process.

     Being nice doesn’t make you stick out from the crowd, and I’m not one to want attention but when people see me I want them to see Jesus. I want people to see me and know there is something different. I want people to see the light of Jesus shining through everything I do. I don’t want people to see me and think ‘Elle is a nice girl who treats others well.’ 

     It’s time for us to stop being nice and to stand up and take a stand for our God. It’s time to stand on top of the mountains and shout that Jesus Christ is our Lord and Savior! Why is it that we will stick up for our friends, but when it comes to our faith we will skirt around the subject and try to be ‘nice’ and ‘agreeable’ with everyone.

     I don’t want to be agreeable, I want to be revolutionary. I don’t want to be nice, I want to make a difference.

It’s time for me to let Jesus use me, for Him to shine through me. I am done being nice.

-Elle

“In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.”Matthew 5:16 

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

