“I’ll be waiting, anticipating. All that I aim form what I was made for.”

“I’ll be waiting, anticipating, All that I aim for, what I was made for, With every heartbeat all of my blood bleeds running inside me, I’m looking for you”

-Switchfoot, Restless

     What are we all waiting for? I feel that everyday I am waiting for something, the next job offer, the next weekend, the next concert, the next month. I sit around and wait for tomorrow, for change to come, to finally enter into that new season that I have been craving. To git the point where things ‘ger better’ where ‘life starts to make sense’ for the day that I know what I am supposed to do.

     I sit here and wait and wait some more, convincing myself that God has picked a day, just one day where everything changes, where I wake up in the morning and God has decided to say

    “This is the day everything changes. This is the day you will figure out your calling, you will get a job offer in line with that calling, and life is going to make sense”

    (If I could I would insert a sound affect along the lines of the odd scratching record plater sound that happens in movies when the room is pumping with music and than suddenly goes silent because of what someone said)

    The more I think about it, the more I realize I can’t be the only one that thinks this way (Please say I am not the only one!) Where we think change happens all at once in this magic moment of understanding.

    As I look back on my past few months, where I have sat waiting for change to take place, I realize change has been happening and I just have not been paying attention…or taking it forgranted. I’m not the same person I was a month ago. I’ve been brushing off the changes in my life by pushing them to the side, telling myself ‘this isn’t the change you are waiting for.’

    For how many times I’ve asked for change, for the next thing to happen, I never took the time to notice change is happening, that I have gone through the baby steps that will lead me to the next adventure.

     Why am I still waiting? Why do I wait for tomorrow for things to change? Instead of waiting for things to start tomorrow (or the next day or the next) I can start developing relationships, meeting more people, networking, praying, reading my Bible more, for all the things I pray and wait for, I can be praying and taking action. I can be working towards the things I want rather than sitting around staring at the clock waiting for them to happen.

-Elle

“You rescued me, You’re changing me. Jesus, take everything. I can’t live my whole life wasting all the grace that I know You’ve given. ‘Cause You made me for so much more than sitting on the sidelines. I don’t want to look back and wonder if good enough could have been better. Everyday’s a day that’s borrowed so why am I waiting for tomorrow.

I’m making this my moment now, to grab the hand that’s reaching down to save me. To save me.”

-Mandisa, Waiting for tomorrow

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

