There is a fine line between patience and settling..

                Recently I have been challenged in the area of patience, in waiting on God’s timing, I know He has bigger plans for me, plans that I could not even imagine.  A Career. A Family. A Home. He knows my hearts desires, not only has He promised us those desires He has also placed those within us.

                “Delight yourself in the LORD, and He shall give you the desires of your heart. Commit your way to the LORD, trust also in Him, and He shall bring it to pass.” -Psalm 37:4-5

                I know that my impatience is nothing compared to the blessing that He has in store for me. God knows what my heart desires; He knows my needs even before I have thought of them. And although I know He will provide in His timing sometimes I really do not like His timing.

                After a year and a half of job searching my patience is starting to wear on me, I thought that I was a pretty patient person up until recently but then I realized that maybe I wasn’t as patient as I claimed to be, maybe I always just settled for what came along, where is the line when being patient turns into settling? I chose my major because it was what I knew, I participated in theatre because it was what I was good at, I joined a service program because I loved to volunteer, but this time it is different. This time I don’t want to just settle into a job, I want a career, and not just any career but the career that God is leading my into.

                I am constantly being told not to settle, but after being patient for so long I want to just jump at the next opportunity that is offered, I don’t want to settle for the circumstances that I am in, I want to push forward and pursue all of the promises and opportunities that God has placed before me, even when that means waiting a few more days, weeks, months (I really pray that is not the case!) Each day as I apply for more and more jobs I tell myself I am pushing forward, that God has the perfect career for me it just hasn’t come around yet, or I am not prepared for it yet. It’s a good thing everything is done electronically now or I may have just destroyed the rain forest with my rejection letters, they suck to get, but each time I know I am that much closer to a new job. But at the same time maybe I am settling. Settling by applying only to the jobs that I know I can do. Settling by not reaching out into a different field but only applying to the jobs that I would be ‘comfortable’ with, for the jobs I know I could excel at rather than reaching for the positions that would be a challenge that would throw me out of my comfort zone. Each job I look at I go down the list of qualifications

Detail Oriented. Check.

Team Player. Check.

Computer Skills. Check

Non Profit Experience. Check

Public Speaking. Next Job Please!

                There are keywords I see that send my heart racing a mile a minute just at the thought of doing something uncomfortable (Public Speaking is Number 1 on that list for me!) By doing this I feel I may be placing myself into a box, settling for what I can do, and not striving for what God has created me to do! After all He knows me best, He knows what I can and cannot do. In the job search I am my biggest competition, in anything we are our biggest competition, we quickly tell ourselves what we cannot do instead it’s time to re-evaluate and tell ourselves what God can do through us! We may struggle with public speaking, or writing or communicating but it does not matter, with God on our sides we can do anything. Now that does not mean that the next time I get in front of a crowd I’m going to magically be able to give a speech, but it does mean that He is not going to leave me up there by myself.

                I am done letting the fear of the unknown or the fear of speaking in front of people or of anything force me to settle into something that God did not have planned. His plans and timing are the only way! As long as we pursue Him with all our hearts He will lead us on the greatest adventure of all time. A non-settling-growing-beyond-imagine-I-can’t-believe-this-is-happening kind of adventure!

                “For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline”

                -2 Timothy 1:7

                “I wait for the Lord, my whole being waits, and in His word I put my hope.”  -Psalm 130:5

-Elle

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

