My Prayer

It isn’t the new year yet, it is getting close but it isn’t here yet. It is that time we start considering our resolutions, to decide what we want to attempt as of 2012 and give up on seven days later. Each year we list out resolutions a mile long of how we want to spend the new year, to get healthy, have a relationship, work out more, go online less.

I just started a new devotional from Lysa TeurKeurst, her new devotional based off her book Made to Crave and after day one I have been challenged. Like Lysa I want to become unsettled.

For all the times I say I want to settle down, I now want to be unsettled.

That word keeps coming up for me. Settle. Not sure why yet, but there must be something there.

My prayer comes right out of Lysa’s Book, and although her book is aimed at facing food issues, I am taking this prayer in a more general stance. It will fit into any moment, any challenge of my life.

“Goodbye to my remnants, my justification, shards, and tendencies. This is not who I am- nor who I was created to be. Goodbye to shallow efforts, self-focus, and suspicious fears that I’ll never find victory in this area of life. I am an unsettled woman who no longer wishes to take part in distractions or destructions. Welcome deeper love for God and the realization I am made for more than this constant battle. Welcome my unsettled heart.”

I am ready to be unsettled.

-Elle

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

