52 Weeks:52 Verses Week 1

“Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified…”

     It is the start of a new year. 2011 has been left behind and for many of us we welcome 2012 with open arms. The new year is a fresh start a new beginning. Although to some it’s just the next day in a week, the next month in a year, many of us approach the new year with optimism. We’ve set up new goals, we’re reaching higher in hopes of accomplishing something throughout the year, and yes after a few weeks or months some of those goals will be thrown to the curb, we forget about the promises we’ve made ourselves, we forget our motivation behind everything. And each year we still claim this will be our year!

     With the new year approaching, I have done the same, I have set goals and timelines, I am determined to find the right job, and I want it by April (yes, I understand this is out o f my control, but there are somethings I can do to help this happen) I want to move in the summer, I want to get out more, do the things I’ve thought about rather than just thinking about them.

     I have not made a list of resolutions, resolutions never last for me, instead I’ve made a list of goals, things I am going to accomplish. One of the things I have realized is I have never really taken the time to memorize scripture, there are some I have memorized because of hearing them so much (Jeremiah 29:11, John 3:16 ect) But I’ve never been good with memorization (unless you count random facts, Did you know flamingos are actually white but turn pink because of all the shrimp they eat?). I’m ready to change that, and stop making excuses that I can’t memorize, or that I don’t like too.

     I have a friend that I talk to often and when we talk he will on the spot always have a verse or two for me to look up that is always what I needed to hear (wanted to hear is always debatable). Every time he sends me a verse I am always amazed at how he always knows just the right verse and he didn’t have to pull out a concordance, or google it.

     Starting this week I am going to have a verse to memorize every week. That’s one verse a week, roughly 4 verses a month, 52 verses by the end of the year. I’m not asking to simply memorize the verse, I want to also study, pray, consider and learn about each verse.

      I am using this blog to keep me accountable, each Monday I will post my verse of the week, and some insight to why I chose each verse, I will post later this week about Joshua 1:9 and why I decided to start my year off with this verse. I invite you to join me in this adventure. You can join me with the verses I choose, or choose your own. I would love to hear from you if you do decide to join me, leave a comment or send me a message so I can encourage and pray for you throughout this year.

     I pray that each of you find this year to be full of blessings, to learn something everyday and to grow closer to our Lord and Savior.

Blessings,

-Elle

 “Be Strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go.”

-Joshua 1:9

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

