Renewing our Minds and focusing on the Positive: Week 2 Graduated Blog Tour

It’s the second week into the Sue Edwards 1 Peter Study, and there is no way to share all that I have been learning in such a short time, this Bible Study has the ability to ask simple questions that take you on a journey through the New Testament and to learn more about yourself and relationship with God. This Bible study is stretching me and teaching me new things and reminding me of some old lessons.

Every year we make new resolutions, the most common being the same year after year.  This year I am going to lose weight, to quit smoking, to fit in those jeans from high school. We make lists and lists on ways that we are going to improve ourselves, and what we want to work on, but every year our resolutions are all external, we want to ‘fix’ the things we don’t like, but we never think to start with our minds.

The more I think about the think about the things I want to change in my life, the more I’ve realized that the only thing that is stopping me is my thinking. I get in the way of myself of making these choices, I convince myself that I cannot get past the fear, or that it isn’t something I was meant to do. My mind and negativity is what gets in the way. Nothing else.

There must be a reason that we are called to purify our minds. Many times in scripture we are reminded to feed our minds, to speak scripture into our doubts. The enemy knows how to attack us, he knows exactly what will push us away from our God, and speaking doubt and fear into our lives can sometimes paralyze us. The only way to fight these is with scripture and truth.

“Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.”

-Philippians 4:8

This has reinforced my desire to memorize more scripture, to challenge myself to stop complaining and catch myself when I grumble. I invite you to join me in taking the challenge to not only focus on scripture and feel ourselves with the Truth of God but to also catch ourselves in our complaints, to turn around our negativity and be more positive day in and day our. Who knows we may just surprise ourselves with what we find out along the way.

-Elle

The 1 Peter: Finding Encouragement in Troubling Times was provided to me complimentary from Kregel Publishing in exchange for an honest review. This is an inductive Bible Study by Sue Edwards which I will be going through for the next 9 weeks.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

