52 Weeks: 52 Verses- Who am I trying to please?

“Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.”

-Galatians 1:10

For such a simple verse, you would think it wouldn’t be so hard to remember; however, like most people I want to fit in, I want to own the fashions like everyone else, I want to make friends easily, to fit in and be able to start a conversation with anyone. Most of the time that is not the case with me though…alright so by most of the time I mean pretty much all of the time. Pretty often I get caught up in what other people think of me, lose myself in trying to figure out how to fit in with others. I am happy with who I am, I like who God created me to be, even if I am not quite sure who that is just yet. I admit though I have those moments where I am pulling apart my closet (although I already know everything it holds, most of which covered in paint) in an attempt to find an outfit that might help me fit in more and not disappear into the crowd or to be look passed. In those moments I forget who I am, and that I shouldn’t be trying to please people.

We have all been there, attempting to change our appearance, or attitude, maybe learning something new, or giving up something we love to try to fit in with the people around us. In those moments remember this verse, and that we are not here to please people. God does not care if we are the most popular or most fashionable. He wants us to be doing His work, bringing glory to His name, and not letting anything distract us from that goal.

This isn’t going to be easy, I’ve struggled with wanting to fit in with people for a long time, but I fit into God’s Kingdom and what could be better than that?

-Elle

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I can relate to this posting because for years I had to come to the reality that I was so busy pleasing everyone else and meeting their needs that I forgot about myself. And sad thing about it we will bring those same feelings into our relationship with Jesus, and it took allot of work and effort on my part to let go of it because I always thought I am to take care of things and people, but God is showing me no Desi you don’t have to do all what you are doing you have to leave it in my hands and let me. And it is getting so much better now that I have learned the art of letting it go. Because we truly aren’t going to please everyone…I can’t always please myself, I miss error with my relationship with Jesus. But thanks be to God for His Mercy and Grace.

    Reply
  2. Are you going to be posting a new verse each week?

    I have definitely spent too much time trying to please others, or even do what i think others desire of me. I need to get my focus back on God!

    Reply
    • Yes, I’m not big into resolutions but I realized I needed to be studying and memorizing the word more, so each week I am going to choose a verse/passage that I plan to memorize that week. I usually post it on Monday or Tuesday and all the verses can be found under the 52 Verses:52 Weeks page, thanks for dropping by, and I agree, I definitley try to please others to much, or try not to cause problems or controversy so I avoid responding or doing what I know I am supposed to to please God. Time to get back on track!
      -Elle

      Reply

Leave a Reply

