A Gentle and Quiet Spirit: 1 Peter Graduated Blog Tour Week 5

“Don’t be concerned about the outward beauty of fancy hairstyles, expensive jewelry, or beautiful clothes. You should clothe yourselves instead with the beauty that comes from within, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is so precious to God.”

1 Peter 3:3-4

Week 5! Can’t believe we are already this far into the Blog Tour, but I have been waiting for this week. 1 Peter 3:3-4 is one of my favorite verses, I just love it! I don’t know if I can really define why I enjoy this verse so much.

Beauty is always a tough subject for me, and I know that for many others it is the same way, that we just don’t feel quite up to par. Not wearing the latest styles, or attempting to wear them and feeling like you can’t quite pull it off. Wearing make-up to fit in and to not feel completely self-conscious.

So many times, especially as a girl we give into what the media has defined as beauty, we let outside influences take charge telling us to dress and look a certain way to be beautiful, that we have to have a certain body type and weigh under an absurd unhealthy amount to be considered beautiful.

I’ve always wanted to fit in, to be accepted by the general population, but that has never been who I am, being invisible comes very natural to me, something I mastered in high school just to get by, but now in my late twenties it starts to get frustrating when people look right past you and don’t realize you were ever standing there, which leads to more self consciousness and wondering how to get people’s attention at times.

One of the hardest things for me to remember is that God does not define us by the world’s standard of beauty, and He does not judge us how the world judges us, by our outward appearances, by the money we make, the success of our careers. What does matter is our heart, our spirit, a gentle and quiet spirit. A spirit that fears God.

I am not flawless. I will never be perfect.In fact I am amazing at making mistakes and saying stupid things at the wrong time. I like dresses, I wear make up, I get muddy, most of my clothes are covered in paint and that is alright because God still loves me. He knows what is in my heart, and He knows what I want to work towards, and the flaws I want to improve upon and the things I want to change. And rather than telling me I have to change for the world to approve of me, He reminds me that He will change me for the better, to be what He has called me to be. Created in His image.

-Elle

 

The 1 Peter: Finding Encouragement in Troubling Times was provided to me complimentary from Kregel Publishing in exchange for an honest review. This is an inductive Bible Study by Sue Edwards which I will be going through for the next 9 weeks

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. That is great I just got finish reading that book this week…allot of good nuggets for us to apply to our lives..amen

    Reply
  2. I believe that the beautiful radiate from within … and gets brighter as we age and move further into Christ … so be encouraged that as you fill and overflow with God you will have a radience that is not earthly in nature, and cannot be matched or faked … with blessings, God is Good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

