Running After Peace: 1 Peter Graduated Blog Tour Week 6

1 Peter 3:8-12 The Message, emphasis added

“Summing up: Be agreeable, be sympathetic, be loving, be compassionate, be humble.

When I first read this section it really didn’t hit me, alright so we are supposed to be nice, but reading it in the Message made it hit home a lot more. There are no wishy washy words used. The message is clear and to the point. We are to be agreeable, sympathetic, loving, compassionate, humble. At first my mind wants to tell me that I try my best at all of these, and convince ourselves that when you have been less than loving there was a valid reason behind it.  But than comes the next part, are you ready for this?

“That goes for all of you, no exceptions. No retaliation. No sharp-tongued sarcasm.”

Ouch. No exceptions. No excuses. No sarcasm.

Guilty. Guilty. Guilty.

I make excuses, I attempt to find reason behind my actions when I do not want to be compassionate. I don’t want to be loving. Sometimes I just want to be angry. I want to be mad. I want to retort with sarcasm and be passive aggressive to make it seem like I am still attempting to be nice and forgiving when I am really not.

That’s not what we are called to be though. Patsy Clairmont likes to say that sarcasm is anger in clown shoes. We use it as a tool, to try to appear like we are not that angry. In those moments we need to stop and breathe. Send up a prayer for peace and help in getting past the emotion and being able to respond with love.

Instead, bless—that’s your job, to bless. You’ll be a blessing and also get a blessing. Whoever wants to embrace life and see the day fill up with good, Here’s what you do:
      Say nothing evil or hurtful;  Snub evil and cultivate good; run after peace for all you’re worth. God looks on all this with approval, listening and responding well to what he’s asked; But he turns his back on those who do evil things. ”

Bless. That’s our job. Wow. That is something to write down and memorize, especially in those moments where we don’t feel like being much of a blessing. I want to try my best everyday to live out this verse. To glorify God through my words and actions. I want to run after peace for all I am worth. I love that. For all I am worth. I haven’t been doing that, I don’t think I’ve been running after peace for half of what I am worth.

It’s time to take that step. Pay attention to my words. My actions. It’s time for me to be a real reflection of Jesus’ character.

-Elle

 

 

The 1 Peter: Finding Encouragement in Troubling Times was provided to me complimentary from Kregel Publishing in exchange for an honest review. This is an inductive Bible Study by Sue Edwards which I will be going through for the next 3 weeks

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Beautiful thoughts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

