Sharing my Heart: 1 Peter Graduated Blog Tour Week 7

“But in your hearts revere Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect, keeping a clear conscience, so that those who speak maliciously against your good behavior in Christ may be ashamed of their slander. For it is better, if it is God’s will, to suffer for doing good than for doing evil. For Christ also suffered once for sins, the righteous for the unrighteous, to bring you to God. He was put to death in the body but made alive in the Spirit.”

1 Peter 3:15-18

‘Always be prepared to give an answer’ this verse has always scared me.  We are called to share the truth. To share Jesus. To spread the Good News. We should be prepared to have an answer to give when others ask about our beliefs, and are curious about the hope we have.

When people ask me about my faith I am always nervous, my words often times don’t make sense, I jumble them around in my head and even worse when I speak up. I’ve always had a struggle with words and talking to people. Opening up these doors to relationships and conversation scares me a bit, I get flustered, I hide behind my shyness or behind people I know. What if I say the wrong thing? What if I steer them further from Jesus because I explained something wrong?

I have words to say. I actually have a lot of words, but often times it takes a while for me to think through them completely, to know how to articulate and share what is in my heart without them all tumbling out backwards. It’s partially why I started blogging, on a blog I can control my words, I can edit and revise, I can make sure I didn’t say something out of turn, now I admit that sometimes when I am really passionate about something the words just come and I don’t have to do any of the above. Other times not so much.

I want to be prepared to share Christ’s love with others! I want people to ask me why and who I have hope in! The best way to prepare is to truly understand who God is and what He does for us, when our passion is on fire we cannot help but share and proclaim to the world who Jesus is.

Through reading and study, church and leadership we can all be fully equipped to share without worrying about stumbling over words. We don’t all need to be amazing public speakers, just look at Moses (See Exodus 4) he struggled with words. We just need to learn to be transparent and share our hearts.

-Elle

The 1 Peter: Finding Encouragement in Troubling Times was provided to me complimentary from Kregel Publishing in exchange for an honest review. This is an inductive Bible Study by Sue Edwards which I will be going through for the next 2 weeks

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

