52 Weeks 52 Verses: Giving into Fear

“For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline”

-2 Timothy 1:7

I am afraid. I fear many things, failure, starting a new job, not making friends, making friends, making the wrong choices, making an error, saying the wrong thing, being alone, being surrounded by people, not fitting in, being misunderstood, not being able to accomplish something and therefore not trying. I let my fear get to me on a regular basis, I attempt to hide that it is there, convince those around me everything is fine, but for the most part I give into my fear. I don’t push myself far enough before I let my fear get in the way and therefore do not accomplish what I want.

We were not given a spirit of fear. Although at times it feels like I was, my fear is not what defines me, God does not want me to give into my fear He wants me to conquer my fears. He does not want me to be timid. God wants me to have a spirit of power and love, of self-discipline. But fear? Nope. How many times have we heard a verse that starts with the words ‘Fear not’ or ‘Do not be afraid’ or some other alteration. This year I want to get past my fears, to face them head on and actually accomplish something. Funny thing is it makes me all the more afraid.

-Elle

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. And know fear is not what God wants for his children | One Lifetime
  2. And know fear is not what God wants for his children | RJBWEB
  3. And know fear is not what God wants for his children « Transcendent Vestige
  4. And know fear is not what God wants for his children | Transient Reflections

Leave a Reply

