52 Weeks 52 Verses: I Run to You

“I run to you, God; I run for dear life. Don’t let me down! Take me seriously this time! Get down on my level and listen, and please—no procrastination!”

-Psalm 31:1, The Message

I love this verse. I often feel like I am running after God, sometimes I am not sure what path to take which way to turn, but as long as He is my goal than everything is going to be alright. He is my focus, the one I look to for comfort, support, love, answers. At every turn, He is there, no matter how quickly I think I’ve made a decision He is still there watching over me, guiding my steps, picking me up when I stumble and ultimately fall flat on my face.

The fact of the matter is, although I see myself always running towards Him, I don’t have too. God is not someone who is trying to evade me, He is not trying to get away from me, in all actuality most of the time He is running after me, when I make choices without asking Him, when I take turns that I know are not the best and that He would not want me to take, He doesn’t go and hide, or wait until I find my path again, He chases after me, holds on to me and never lets me go, no matter how hard I may try to push Him away.

The best times though aren’t the days He is running after me, or the times I feel I am running after Him, but the days we are running with each other. When just like a little kid I am jumping into each of His footsteps staying with Him and following Him. In those moments when my life can shine His love through me, when people can tell there is something different about me just by the way I act and respond. Those are the best days. The ones where I am following Him to the path that He has set before me, when I can show people what the love of our Father truly means.

God will never run away from you. No matter what. No matter what you think you have done that would not deserve His love, there is nothing that can chase Him away. Accept His love, embrace it, and start down that path alongside Him to the life He has prepared you for that will lead you into eternity. Remember, God will never let you down.

-Elle

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

