52 Weeks 52 Verses: Who am I?

“When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is mankind that you are mindful of them, human beings that you care for them? You have made them a little lower than the angels and crowned them with glory and honor.”

-Psalm 8:3-5

I’m currently in the middle of a devotional called ‘Stress Point: Thriving through your 20s in a decade of drama’ by Sarah Francis Martin.  I am a little more than half way through my twenties and I can agree that it is a decade of drama, a time of figuring out what to do, where to go, what choices to make. It is a time of complete transition and change, friends getting married, people having babies.

The most common question that I ask revolves around the topic of ‘Who am I’? I’ve been known to question who I am, wonder if I am good enough, if there is something wrong with me that keeps me from making friends, that keeps me single. I wonder what it is that drives my fears, and I wonder why and ask God why I am the way I am. But, it’s not my place to ask. I shouldn’t be worried about who I am, I should be accepting who I am in Christ, and celebrating the quirks he has given me, although I may see them as bad, He did not intend them that way. He gave me the gifts I have so that I can share His love, to connect with people who may feel the same way, that I can relate to and maybe connect too when no one else can.

There’s no more asking who I am, today I start celebrating my gifts and strengths, I improve upon my weaknesses. I will use each moment to glorify the God that made me the way that I am and that sees and adores me. I may not understand it, I might never understand it, but today I chose to simply embrace it. To embrace the God who has created and forgiven me.

“Who am I that You, Lord, care about me? Who am I that You, who gently whispers and a rainbow forms, would love and adore me so dearly? Who am I that You would forgive me day after day after day for living wrapped up in myself rather that wrapping myself up in who You are?” -Stress Point

-Elle

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

