52 Weeks 52 Verses: Two roads diverged…

“Where can I go from your Spirit? Where can I flee from your presence? If I go up to the heavens, you are there; if I make my bed in the depths, you are there…even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast.”

-Psalm 139:7-8,10

For the past few years I have felt a bit complacent and lost. I’ve hit this point where I go through the motions of my day, I live off of a structure, I tend to do the same things day in and day out. I have hit a routine. I feel as if I am playing a waiting game, where I am standing in the middle of a path with multiple choices to take (‘…two roads diverged..’) and as I glance to each path I am waiting, waiting for God to look down at me and show me, give me a hint to which path I should be taking, which path will lead me to Him and His calling upon my life. I pace around in little circles, sit and stare at the clouds going by and imagining what shapes they are taking, all the while waiting to hear His voice, to get an idea which path to take.

I know which path I don’t want to take, I don’t want to go backwards, I don’t want to retreat into my past where I am comfortable, to my past that I feel invisible, to the past that I would love the chance of a do-over. I want to move forward, but there are so many options to forward, each path has many other paths in front of it, from choices of a job or a career, to a family or singleness, to Oklahoma or away. There are so many choices and I don’t want to take the wrong path, I don’t want to make a mistake, I don’t want to visit Pennsylvania to tell them I’m the one that didn’t make anything of myself, that left with huge dreams and came back sitting in a job that I don’t enjoy or feel called to be a part of.

The fact of the matter is, that no matter which path I choose, which one I start on, and even those I retreat from God is there. Even if I choose the path that makes me backtrack from where I am God is always there beside me with open arms to comfort, protect, and guide me. He is there as my provision and offers me grace for every time I wander off on a rabbit trail or stumble and fall. Either way, which ever choice I choose He will be there to pick me up and provide the support I need along the way. So rather than standing at this point of diverging paths it’s time to take a step into the unknown. Even if I wanted to (and I don’t) God will never hide for me, there will be times I can’t hear Him, times I am ignoring His voice and times I end up asking ‘You want me to do what?’ but no matter the case He is always with me, and will guide my path, even when I stumble onto the wrong one.

-Elle

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

