Searching for Vision

In life I often have those moments of being at a crossroads, being at a point where there are so many paths to choose from. Lately I have felt myself standing at a trail head with multiple options to choose from, I can see each path, I can tell each one leads to something different but I cannot see the whole path clearly, I cannot see where each will take me. I know each will lead somewhere else. And some will even take me backwards from where I stand today. And yet I stand here and consider each path unsure of which one is the right one to take.

This weekend I found myself at a Marriage Seminar. 26-years old, incredibly single and sitting at a marriage seminar, not exactly what I had in mind. I found a lot of the information useful and will great in the if-and-when happens. I’m not one of those girls searching for a husband at every corner I turn, and although I see the importance of the singles crowd to hear this information in preparation for the future, up until a few days before I really was set to not go to a marriage seminar, with being a part of so many weddings lately it just did not sound appealing. But I must say it did get me thinking…just not exactly about marriage.

There was one point in the seminar where the Pastor talked about having a vision statement for his marriage and how him and his wife go on a vision retreat each year to pray, talk, share and have fun to discuss what God has planned for them and what their vision for them as a couple, for their children and for their family is for that year. Now if businesses, churches, and married couples had a vision for their year…maybe that was what was missing from me. And than it hit me.

I had no vision.

I’ve prayed for guidance, had ideas of where I would like to be, asked God to reveal His plans to me, but what I was lacking was vision. I had nothing to line my choices up with. There was no real motivation except going through each day, so I am putting together a plan. A weekend of disconnecting and figuring out what God has in store for me this year, and the path He wants me to take.

Do you have a vision for your life?

What do you think about creating a Vision statement for your everyday?

-Elle

“‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you. Plans to give you hope and a future.'”

Jeremiah 29:11

 

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

