Where will this story take me?

It’s been two weeks since I last posted. Wow. Where did those two weeks go? They just flew by, I honestly did not believe it had been that long.

In those two weeks I have been mostly catching up on books and reviews, there will be quite a few of them over the next month, but I love to read so the more the merrier!

Recently I saw a post about where someone got their love of reading from (in this case it was their mom) and it got me thinking, where did my love of reading come from?

I honestly don’t know.

I don’t come from a family of readers. My sister now considers herself a reader but she didn’t start to enjoy reading until her late twenties. I’ve never seen my brother with a book besides a brief stint in elementary school when he loves the Captain Underpants Series and as for my mom I never saw her reading either.

No one ever pushed me to read, or had to force books on me, I’ve always loved and devoured books to the point I still remember the first chapter book I finished in a day (The Cuckoo Clock of Doom By: R.L. Stine) since a young age I devoured The Boxcar Children, anything written by Roald Dahl and in 7th grade I discovered Animorphs, my mom used to joke that the author couldn’t write them fast enough, we would go to the mall, hit the book store first and while everyone shopped I would walk and read (A skill I mastered at a young age!) By the time we left I would have finished the book.

In 4th grade I remember reading Matilda, and watching the movie and telling myself that if Matilda could read the classics than so could I! (And boy did I try!)

I’ve always been a dreamer, I loved the character of Belle and how she dreamed of ‘far off places, daring-sword fights, a prince in disguise!’ I’ve always loved the escape a book provided and still do. I love to escape to another world, another time.

I hope to never lose my love of reading, when I have children I hope they have the same love. However, recently I’ve started thinking that maybe I do need to get my nose out of the books for a little while. That I need to actually do life, to meet people and go places! To create my own stories to get lost in, rather than relying on books.  I will never give up reading, but maybe it is time for me to put down the book a little more often and take a step in an unexpected direction?

-Elle

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Your comment about reading the classics made me smile … I devoured all that I could land my hands on yet was a frustrated reader … So now I have my own children (9 and nearly 6) I make sure they are aptly supplied … Enjoy being in the moment and the creating of your own adventures … while never losing that passion … Blessings. God is Good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

