Direction

“If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God,

who gives generously to all without finding fault,

and it will be given to you.”

James 1:5

Direction. I feel that ever season we are in has us searching for some form a direction. The friends we choose, the church we go to, what college will we attend, where will we live, what will we major in, what job will be choose.

No matter what season we are in, there is something that has us searching for direction. The book Deeply Loved: 40 ways in 40 days to experience the heart of Jesus has a day that is all about looking for direction, lately I have been seeking direction, praying for guidance and what to do, where to go from here. Recently I have been wondering if moving to Oklahoma had been the right thing to do, lately it has felt like my life is at a standstill, that I have no direction to go in, that I am waiting at a fork in the road with no clue on which path to take or where to step next. While I stand here and wait, and pray, and consider the past three years I wonder back to the day I made the decision to move from Colorado to Oklahoma. I had told myself and others that the move was a God thing, that I really felt like this is where God wanted me to be, that He had big plans for me in Oklahoma, but now as I look back I wonder if I was just kidding myself. That quite possibly that God was not calling me to Oklahoma and instead I had selfishly chosen that this is where God wanted me to be.

In Deeply Loved Keri Wyatt Kent points out that maybe there isn’t one right answer and the rest are wrong, that maybe God doesn’t have only have one option for us to choose and everything else is wrong. That quite possibly Oklahoma wasn’t the exact direction that God had in mind for me, but by making that choice it doesn’t stop my life, it doesn’t bring it to a standstill. Even though we choose paths that might not always be correct God is still in control and can take our choices and turn them into something that will glorify Him.

Praying for wisdom, guidance and direction is difficult, and it gets frustrating, but as long as we are seeking God and staying in His word and keeping Him at the center of I life, whatever decisions we make and paths we follow as long as we keep God at the center than we are heading it the right direction.

Always remember that we are deeply loved by God.

-Elle

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

