It’s a barefoot-running-windows-open-music-blasting-cartwheeling kind of day!

This is my favorite time of year. I love spring. There is no other way to explain it, but I love spring days where all I want to do is kick off my shoes and head down to the lake. The days where I want to find a field to do cartwheels in, or if I have to drive avoiding the highways and taking back roads so I can roll down the windows and blast the radio singing along no matter how off-key.

However, this spring feels different. Yes, I still want to do all those things, I want to waste away my days sitting outside with a good book or on the days it’s thunderstorming I want to kick off my shoes and stomp through puddles.

This spring is no different in that aspect, and each spring has always felt like a new season, a time for renewal and rebirth. With Easter kicking off the Spring it’s easy to see how Spring brings life. However, this year this Spring feels different, it is not just a new season in terms of weather and the planet facing a new direction, this spring feels like the start of a new season in my life. A time of growth, a time of stretching. This season is the start of something new, the possibilities are endless in the directions that life can take me.

In the short few weeks since Spring has begun have seen God pointing me towards new doors and closing old ones, He is guiding my steps in a new direction, with new friendships, and a time to really spend time with God. I moved to Oklahoma almost 4 years ago and for the longest time I felt like I was at a standstill, that I was just waiting for something to happen, for a path to be chosen, a step to be taken. I felt stuck in a holding pattern with no way out, stuck in a holding pattern of struggling to grow, stuck with challenges I didn’t know how to handle. Some of those challenges I got through to the other side and it was able to shape and change me. But there are those other challenges that I can look at and feel like I’ve failed, that I got so frustrated I could not see what God was teaching me, and some cases I didn’t want to see it, I just wanted to move into the next season.

I’ve learned to appreciate those seasons that I don’t want to be in, so many times we rush into the next season, the next thing we want to happen with our lives, our careers, where we are headed too rather than enjoying the season we are in and enjoying the moment.

I don’t even know where I was going with this post, but I am so excited for this new season, for the season I am entering where the possibilities are endless with so many doors opening and opportunities I have never expected. I can’t wait to see what God has in store for me this season.

-Elle

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

