We Won’t Be Shaken

I don’t understand a lot of things. I don’t understand why people choose to hurt others, why disasters occur. Why our world is full of so much hate, why we can’t learn to help our neighbors, why we continue to walk away from people we love over petty differences.

I don’t understand. This week has been a tough one for our nation, bombings in Boston, an entire town devastated by a plant fire. Yet, in both of these there are stories of hope, stories of neighbors turning to help one another, of people running towards disaster instead of away from it. Where people have come together to reach out and support.

What I don’t understand is why it takes tragedy and heartache to bring people together. Why there must be a list of injured and killed for someone to stand up and reach out a hand of support. Yes, we should bind together in times of disaster, we should offer what help we can, but we shouldn’t forget to reach out to those same people you see struggling in times when things are going right. When we aren’t hurting.

When these things happen I want to be moved to action, but I don’t want it to only be when disaster strikes, I want to be there for my neighbors, my friends, my family, perfect strangers, when their day has been rough, when they just need a hug, a shoulder to cry on, or someone to talk too.

I want today to be a call to action, a call for each of us to reach out our hands and do our parts in helping one another. To extend what we have in each day, things like what has happened in Boston and in Texas help to Unite us, but let us not forget them once the media stops reporting on them, when the faces of the injured trickle our of our papers and off of our facebook pages. Let us continue to help one another out in the good and the bad.

Times are difficult, and sometimes we don’t understand what is going on, what we do know is that God is on our side, He is our protector and our comforter. When we don’t know how to pray He feels our anguish and doesn’t need our words He simply needs our hearts.

-Elle

 

I wanted to share this song with you, it’s a reminder that no matter what evil there is in the world We will not be shaken. We will continue to fight and we will continue to spread the Good News of our God, no matter how bad our days will go, if we have the words to pray, if we don’t know where to turn, God is always on our side.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Amazing post! I’ve been following your blog for a while now but haven’t commented on anything, so I just wanted to let you know I’m grateful for the reviews you post (I am a reviewer too and we have similar taste!). Sometimes I’ll have heard of a book and be interested in reading it and then you post a great review on it 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

