My Heart is Breaking. #OnMission

My heart is breaking. I don’t have the words to pray. I’m not sure what to do.

I find myself on my knees, my heart breaking as I watch the news, knowing that I have a warm bed to sleep in. Running water. A roof over my head.

Meanwhile, 30 minutes south of me there are families without homes, mothers searching for their daughters, fathers finding the few remaining pieces that were left behind. Families searching for one another. Rescue workers continuing the search in hopes of finding life.

I don’t know the words to pray, I don’t know what more I can do beyond handing out water and giving what I can. What I do know is that God understands and knows the hurt in my heart, He knows my heart and understands my wordless prayers.

Days like today remind me why I want to have a career in disaster response. Why God has placed this mission upon my heart, I have been called to serve, to help those during these times, and although I do not have the career yet, I still know that my mission is to do what I can, to reach out to those that need help.

As a transplant from Pennsylvania, people wonder why I chose to live in Oklahoma, a place also known as tornado alley, and although days like today are an example of why I shouldn’t live here, days like today are also the reason why I chose to move here, with the surge of people heading into a disaster zone to help, shelves in numerous stores emptied of water, teachers laying across students to protect them, strangers coming to each others aid. These are the reasons why I am proud to call Oklahoma my home. I didn’t move her for the tornadoes, the hot summers or the hail damage.

I moved here for the people. For my church, although, unsure of how to help, managed to collect three car loads of donations of water, blankets, snacks and toiletries. I love that my church has a mission to serve.

Although today has been a tough day full of chaos and devastation, I can’t help but to be proud to be an Oklahoman. Proud that my community is ready to stand strong and rebuild.

Sometimes, I don’t understand why bad things happen, why there is hurt in the world, but I do know that I have a Mighty God and He is stronger than any tornado, that He will bring peace and healing.

I ask each of you joining me in prayer for our state, for the families that have lost so much, for the first responders working all hours of the day, I pray that when they are able to rest they will remember the joy of reuniting families rather than the hurt and sadness of what this day has brought, join me in praying for the volunteers, for the out-pour of help that has been offered not just from Oklahoma, but from Joplin, Indiana, Pennsylvania and even as far Australia, across the world people have joined in praying for Oklahoma and I ask you to join us and remember that God is good, He is our provision.

“The Lord is close to the broken-hearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit. Psalm 34:18

-Elle

 

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Zoe

     /  May 21, 2013

    Elle, I’m proud of you for listening and living where you are called to be. G-d is you covering and your shelter; as long as You’re with Him, He’s going to continue to protect you. I have others that live near you; and am thankful that you know how to help; as so many people don’t even know what they can do. Proud to call you one of my best friends, and praying that G-d continues to use you there, in OKC.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

